Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pick-ups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by RojoRocket, Nov 2, 2005.

1. RojoRocket

RojoRocket

Nov 2, 2005
    Amsterdam
    Hello, I'm thinking about replacing my pick-ups and would like a piece of advice from you guys.
    My bass is an Ibanez GSR200, with standard pups
    I'm a total noob concerning pick-ups. I know for a fact that the original GSR200 pickups are a jazz pick-up near the fretboard and a presicion pick-up near the bridge.
    Here come the questions:):
    Are all Jazzpickups in the "double, half pickpup shape"?
    To illustrate the question here is a schematic drawing of how they look like this:

(argh, it doesn't show my drawing correctly. It basically comes down to this: A normal pickup "sliced" in two, then placed underneath each other, halfway through the half pickup.)

The music I play with my band is doom/traditional/heavy metal; what would be the best choice of pickups to get a sharp, agressive sound that goes well with distortion?

Are there faq's on how to replace P-ups, and where can I find them?

Thats all for the questions for now, I hope I'm not boring you with my noobquestions and crappy ansidrawings of pickups, and any help is superbly appreciated.

2. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    What you describe is....
    uh.. no..
    I dont get it.

I thought you were talking about a P (Presicion) Style pickup (Split Coil Humbucker), but when I read again, and you said you have a P and a J , then I guess you know that.

But then again.. i didnt really get it.

What I can recommend for your particular style of music, is having a set of ACTIVE EMGs. They will sound GREAT.