1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

picking a first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by metalmonkey, Jul 24, 2008.

1. metalmonkey

metalmonkey

Jul 21, 2008
    I've narrowed down my choice of a first bass to these following basses:

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Squier-by-Fender-Affinity-Series-J-Bass-102581444-i1150678.gc for about $130

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Gretsch...-Junior-Jet-Bass-Guitar-100602747-i1320394.gc
    for about $175

they on sale, the gretsch had a really big price drop there. I'm really digging the gretsch, but the low string tension and the short scale is bothering me a little. the squier just seems really generic to me, but its pretty soild, nothing too great though. What would be best to learn on? i've been playing guitar for a few years, and im hoping to get a fretless bass in a few years.

2. kickupthejam

kickupthejam

Feb 22, 2008
    Perth
    The squier would be the sensible choice, but a gretsch....

Buy with your head, not your heart for your first bass; or get both

3. to learn on for a year or so till you get a nice bass id say go with the squier. Our school has them and theyre not to bad to play :)

4. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    Whatever you buy, I suggest getting a pro-setup: adjust the string height, intonation, etc.

5. ^ agreed

Greg Benett and SX are also good choices

6. CPplaysBASS

CPplaysBASS

Mar 17, 2007
    Ontario
    The lesson I learned too .. regardless of whether you're buying a $100 bass or a $1,000 bass is eventually, no matter how much you love it, you'll try selling it when you want another bass. Assuming you take care of whatever bass you buy, there's a bigger aftermarket for Squier/Fender than Gretsch.

With that said ... which one makes you want to play more?

7. ErebusBass

ErebusBass

Feb 20, 2008
    Madison, WI