1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Planning and design for a first build...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by JanVanHove, Apr 27, 2009.

1. JanVanHove

JanVanHove

Apr 27, 2009
    Brussels, Belgium
    Founder, Jan Van Hove Basses
    Hi guys, newbie here...
    I'm just getting started on the instrument building thing...

For now I have only designs of two possible body shapes, in single and double cut versions... they are whown here in NT versions, but I put them together with BO in mind as well...

JVH-basses-mark-I.

I'd be happy to hear any feedback you guys can give me on these ideas...

2. shootermcgavin1

shootermcgavin1

Jan 14, 2009
    perth
    i think the right side of your design(like the 6th string side) comes up way too high ... allthough full points for originality at least it looks a bit different ya know

3. JanVanHove

JanVanHove

Apr 27, 2009
    Brussels, Belgium
    Thanks! originality is one of the things I'm aiming for! :)

The right side, you mean on the singlecuts (between 11th and 12th fret) or the doublecuts (between 16th and 17th)?

*edit for lack of coffee*
    Damn Monday morning, by the right side you of course mean the other side, which is at the 22nd fret? You feel that the cut should be deeper? Going all the way to the 24th?

4. bhie_alka

bhie_alka

Mar 30, 2009
    Bogor-Indonesia
    hmm... i like the color,,,
    i like the second basses (from left).. :hyper:
    ^^

5. I do not really dig your design, but that's a matter of taste, but I noticed that the positions of your tuners are somewhat problematic. You should try to let the strings run straight to the tuner, so your tuners are placed gradually more to the center line. The way you layed them out, will cause the strings to also touch the tuner below the one it's heading for..