Playing walking bass WITH chords

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Garun, Nov 18, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Garun

Garun Guest

Sep 8, 2015
    I started playing with my friend some acoustic jazzy songs, but we (mostly I) don't want to play bass in lower register for this, but higher, to get like two guitars feel. But acoustic guitar sounds too thin to me, so I want to play chords on bass.
    So far, I can do walking in 2/4 and in 3/4, but I can't get it in 4/4 which is what I need.
    I am trying to get at least 1 note to stay on chord (3rd or 7th). It sounds "empty" without at least one note of chord and bass note.
    So for example, when I play from Am7 to Dm7, I try to keep C note (3rd of Am7 and 7th of Dm7)
    G --17--17--17--17-|--17--17--17--17--|--16-
    D --17--17--14--17-|--15--15--15--15--|--15-
    A -------15--15--15-|--17--17--15-------|-----
    E --17----------------|----------------17--|--15-
    Am7 Dm7 G7

This is so far best I got. It is a bit repeated, which I don't like, but I just started :) plenty of time to improve.
    Any ideas, videos, tips, tricks for 4 feel? Any players known for this type of thing?

Oldschool94 likes this.
  2. Oldschool94

Oldschool94

Jan 9, 2015
    OP, I made a video just for you. It is more geared towards playing jazz, rather than jazzy per se, but it might help you out.

3. BAG

BAG

May 5, 2014
    New Zealand
    I'm gonna have to give this a go. I play a lot with acoustic guitars and at times with a uke group. This could be fun. I've not really delved into playing chords like that on bass. Can you tell me what chords you are using?

4. Oldschool94

Oldschool94

Jan 9, 2015
    If you are talking to me, they are listed at the end of the video. If not, please excuse me.

5. BAG

BAG

May 5, 2014
    New Zealand
    Yes i was. I was watching at work and didn't watch it through to the end, which I will do this evening at home. Thank you for that.

Oldschool94 likes this.
  6. Nyec

Nyec

Nov 20, 2015