Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Polish a Fender

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by photodoug, Oct 12, 2003.

1. photodoug

photodoug

Sep 12, 2003
    I read that Fender uses automotive paint to finish their instruments. Does mean I can polish the body and neck (not fretboard)with car wax?

The bass in question is a 1989 MIA J in tobacco sunburst.

2. Polish a fender with car wax?

Hmmmm there's ajoke in there somewhere! :D :D

Seriously, I don't know if that's really true, but auto paint is generally laquer so it should work fine for a guitar finish. I'm no expert and claim no responsibility.

I do know that many production plants are using polyester based finishes, I think that cars use that too. the main thing is that a hard finish like auto paint will stand up to lots of abuse because it's thick. Most factory guitars have a pretty heavy finish on them, at least the painted kind. Better guitars have a thin finish on them and won't take the kind of abrasive polishes that auto paint will.

Just my CD$0.03

BT

3. LoJoe

LoJoe

Sep 5, 2002
    Concord, NC USA.
    2000 MIA P. First treated with 3M Automotive cleaner wax and then finished up with Zano showcar polish.

[​IMG]

4. Wow LoJoe! That's nuts!

Fender used to use car paints. They used Nitrocellulose Lacquer early on and in the 70s I think. But I read something about laquer shrinking or some problem with it. Fender uses urethane paints nowadays, I believe.

5. Gentlemen, there's some goofy ideas flying around here. Let's set some of them straight.