1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Potential move to 6 string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by NYBassMan, Mar 9, 2013.

1. NYBassMan

NYBassMan

Oct 19, 2003
    East Meadow, NY
    I have been playing bass for the last 17 years. I have only played 4 or 5 string in that time. I have been toying with the notion of adding a 6 string to my collection. To anybody who has taken this plunge, how hard did you find the transition? I do a lot of slap/pop funk style playing. I know with the congested string spacing, it may be more difficult. Of course like with most things, i could be overanalyzing this. I appreciate any responses on the subject.

Anthony

2. Sane

Sane Supporting Member

Dec 4, 2004
    Melbourne Fl
    It took less time then the switch between 4 and 5. If spacing bothers you and wide fret boards don't plenty of options for 18 -19mm spacing.

3. Probably the most popular answer to your type of question here in TB is to play every 6er you can get your hands on and if you find one that fits, let your conscience and wallet be your guide. Hope this saved some TBers some typing. :)

4. NYBassMan

NYBassMan

Oct 19, 2003
    East Meadow, NY
    THanks for the info. The reason I ask is that I was going to have one built for me. I was going to request 19mm string spacing. The biggest thing I am curious about, is I am contemplating getting a lined fretless. Being that I slap as much as I do, I found that the tone is obviously different between fretted and fretless basses when tapping, slapping or popping. Is there any pickup that you can recommend that will add to presence when slapping on a fretless? I hope these questions don't sound stupid. I just really want to make all the right decisions with the luthier. Thanks