Power supplies: Let's have it out!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JimmyM, Jul 31, 2012.

1. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Saw a comment on here the other day about power supplies...dude said that his pedals sound better with the Voodoo Labs Pedal Power than the Visual Sound 1Spot because the 1Spot is SMPS. So I looked up the issue and found that it's as controversial and undecided as it is in amp world.

I've been using 1Spots for 3 years and never once had a problem powering any pedals I have, and I notice no difference with the 1Spot vs. a battery or a more traditional wall wart 9v power supply. Don't have a Voodoo Lab device, though, so I can't speak to that, but my experience with the 1Spot has been 100% positive. I'm currently powering two X2 wirelesses and anywhere from 1 to 8 other pedals and it seems to be doing just fine. I know it has issues with some digital pedals, but I don't use any that give it fits.

And yet, all over the web, it seems that those of us who use 1Spots are looked upon as douchebags by those who use the more expensive stuff. Well maybe not douchebags exactly, but less than professional, which is funny because I AM a professional. I saw a comment by the head of Visual Sound comparing the SMPS controversy to the high end cable controversy, and I'm not finding much reason to disagree with him, meaning it sounds like a lot of marketing hoo-ha to me after my positive experience with the 1Spots.

So why am I a douchebag? ;) Actually, I just want to know what I'm missing here. Why is a 1Spot not considered the "pro" thing to do? What advantage does the Voodoo Labs device and similar have over the 1Spot except playing nice with digital pedals?

2. I can't argue whether One Spots are or aren't professional, as I am not one. ;)