1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Practicing Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mynameisjack2, Nov 28, 2010.

1. mynameisjack2

mynameisjack2

Jun 22, 2009
    Dallas, TX
    So I joined my high school's jazz band several months ago. I love playing in it, but there's one problem: practicing.

No tune we're playing is particularly difficult, I've been playing for around 4 years, so there's not a ton I can't play without practice. But while the lines sound great in an ensemble format, they just don't sound good myself in my room with a metronome. It used to not be a huge issue, and we weren't playing a lot so I could upload the music to guitar pro or play with a track online. But nowadays, there's a lot of music, and most of it doesn't have a professional track online.

So herein lies the problem, i tried practicing for an hour with just a metronome, and I absolutely couldn't do it. I lost interest, wouldn't play the right notes, etc. This is a problem since most of the songs involve just a straight quarter note part that's pre-written. When improv-ing I do just fine in rehearsal, but when reading it sounds off a lot, something that a little practice would cure.

I'm trying to practice with the pianist as often as I can, but is there any other advice some of you would like to share to make practicing uninteresting lines more bearable?

Thanks ahead of time!

2. Sarbecue Boss

Sarbecue Boss

Jul 9, 2006