1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

preamp/power amp setup

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Revelation64, Apr 20, 2009.

1. Revelation64

Revelation64

Jan 17, 2009
    I'm am currently looking to build a preamp/poweramp setup. I like a warm deep(kind of vintagish) tone for the most part,but would like to be able to get something really...ballsy also. Sometimes a bit of overdrive would be nice but the clean tone is my main concern. I am new to this sort of thing so any suggestions on a good preamp or power amp or a good combination? I will soon be aquiring an Ibanez btb775 that you should take into consideration on the tone part. I've always loved the btb series for their looks and playability and the tone I've gotten from the recent ones makes me feel happy inside.

EDIT: I am currently running through a (discontinued)peavey tvx412,450 watts at 4 ohms. But will probably be picking up a 1x15 neo and a 2x10 to go with this setup. Not totally sure on the exact cabs but those are the speaker configurations I've been looking at.

2. Revelation64

Revelation64

Jan 17, 2009
    only gonna bump this once in hopes of getting at least a little input.

3. Couple thoughts...

I don't have a bunch of experience with preamps, so I'll defer to searches and other people's input. I run a BBE BMax pre and I love the sound, but I wouldn't describe it as ballsy, and has no overdrive. (extremely clean sound)

I will suggest putting some money in to the power amp - that can't be understated. That's not an area where you want to cut corners. QSC or Carvin or Crest all make good products in that area that I'd recommend.