1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Price Range

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by footprints89, Oct 31, 2010.

1. I read through the newbie links and struggled to find anything discussing prices. I have around $500 to spend on an amp. I am new to amplification for bass so I'm not sure what kind wattage I should go for. I assume a fifty watt would get the job done. I just need a reasonable amp that doesn't take away from my tone tremendously (obviously haha).

Thanks in advance!

2. LaklandBass

LaklandBass

Jan 26, 2005
    IL
    Heres a couple questions for you.
    What styles of music.
    What basses.
    Do you play shows?
    Do you need just a practice amp?
    Do you want a combo?
    Do you want a sep. cab/head?
    What do you have now?
    How many players in your band?

3. I play in a jazz trio at the moment and we intend to start gigging. We are also hoping to add a drummer so I'm taking that into consideration. I really don't know what I want. I always play acoustic, so I'm clueless on amps. I just have been told to get an amp and to consider pre-amps.

4. LaklandBass

LaklandBass

Jan 26, 2005
    IL
    Id say that a good 2x10 and a decent head should get you started. Then you can add a 4x10 later if you think you need it.
    For 2x10 cabs you can find alot of good ones for great prices. A store near my house has a David Eden 210 used for $299. If you can stretch your buget by $50 you can add in a brand new Hartke HA2500 head which is plenty loud.
    If you want a combo Id suggest Eden, SWR, GK. Always try to buy used for these.

5. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    Do you play upright?