1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Prog Rock Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Maleikbassist, Mar 9, 2013.

1. Maleikbassist

Maleikbassist

Mar 8, 2013
    I've been listening to prog now for a couple of years, most notably ELP, Pink Floyd(although I'd agree that they aren't 100% prog), Genesis, as well as a few others that have that prog feel to it. I really dig the types of tones and sounds that they go for such as the high trebles, high gain, aggressive picking. I've had some luck recreating some of my favorite tones with my rig, but not completely satisfied. Did some research, found that the Hiwatt's were what a few of them used, as well as some go sounds from the classic Bassman heads. While I'd have no problem getting a vintage head, I'd think I'd like to find a cheaper route. Was considering trying to find a Bassman 50-100 watt on ebay. Also was wondering if anyone knew of a good modern made amp that could make those classic Hiwatt/Bassman Prog Rock bass tones. Any help in the right direction would be greatly appreciated! :smug:

2. Tony Levin used Trace Elliot forever. A lot of them used Sunn Colliseum and 300t. The Ampeg SVT is a staple in any music from the 70's and 80's, with prog being no exception.

As for modern alternatives the Gallien Krueger fusion stuff might work, Aguilar Th500, Ampeg, Fender remakes. Or you could try some pedals like the way huge swollen pickle, Wooley Mammoth, B3K or B7K.

3. Hobobob

Hobobob Don't feed the troll, folks.

Jan 25, 2011
    Camarillo, CA