1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pros and cons of stacking...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mikewalker, May 6, 2019.

1. stacked on the floor

30 vote(s)
    62.5%
  2. stacked on a box

14 vote(s)
    29.2%
  3. Stack split by stand

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. something else

4 vote(s)
    8.3%
  5. something else involving crates of organic carrots

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. mikewalker

mikewalker Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2017
    Canada, Eh!
    I'm not an acoustical engineer (although I do play one on TV) ;) and I was wondering if anyone can educate me about the "boundary effect", and how substantial that really is.

I have two identical 1-12 cabs, and would like to stack them for optimal performance and efficiency - but also keeping in mind I'd like to hear my articulation very well.

These are my three options I have been considering :

stand.gif

The "stacked on the floor" potentially offers "floor boundary coupling" plus "the line array effect" - but it's not pointed anywhere near my ears... (I'd typically be positioned no more than 5 or 6 feet in front of it)

The "stacked on box" potentially offers LESS (zero?) "floor boundary coupling" plus "the line array effect" - and it's pointed somewhat closer to my ears...

The "stacked w/stand" potentially offers "floor boundary coupling" but (probably?) loses the "the line array effect" - however the top cab is pointed more towards near my ears...

All things being equal, which would be considered optimal? Are the "boundary" and "line array" effects really considerable? I'd be running about 400 WRMS through this rig. This application is for small but loud rooms, with no PA support for the bass. I've been leaning towards buying a tilt stand, but would love some opinions on this first...

Last edited: May 6, 2019
    Spidey2112 likes this.
  2. Redbrangus

Redbrangus Supporting Member