1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Purchasing a double bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by PCprincipalbass, Mar 8, 2013.

1. PCprincipalbass

PCprincipalbass

Mar 5, 2013
    Hello everyone. I am asking a few suggestions about buying a double bass for the first time. I've always used the school basses and have never owned my own. I'm a freshman in high school and I'd like a bass that will last me through college plus a bit after. I'm not sure a whole lot to look for as I have never purchased a bass before. Also my budget is about $10,000.

-Landen

2. Ryker_M

Ryker_M

May 10, 2012
    London, Ontario
    You've given yourself a pretty liberal budget, which is good. However, to get a decent idea of what you're looking for you should read some of the stickies. They're full of great resources for finding a bass.

Generally though, you should look for something "local" to try out.

Good luck with your search!

3. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    In my view your budget is on the high side unless you're really gifted.

4. MaxJohnson

MaxJohnson

Jan 29, 2009
    Brooklyn, NY
    Where do you live? That will open up your options. I say, go play every single instrument you can play, and that should teach you about the different qualities of instruments. Play stuff that costs WAY more than you want to spend, but play everything you can get your hands on. Every instrument you play will help inform your opinion.

5. PCprincipalbass

PCprincipalbass

Mar 5, 2013
    Hmm interesting comments. I'll take into thought what some of you have said. And I didn't know you could pay under 10k for a nice bass.

6. PCprincipalbass

PCprincipalbass

Mar 5, 2013
    I also reside in oklahoma

7. drurb