Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Quatre's Daily Bass Workout

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by quatre03, Feb 18, 2005.

1. quatre03

quatre03

Aug 20, 2004
    Well i've developed this workout that i'm going to try and do every day till i leave for berklee in a year and a half. I'm not sure how log it would take to get through all of it, but i'm still learning most of it, so it might take 2 hours of practicing to do all of it. But if you'd like to try it my only suggestion is do each part in order, and do it untill you get it, dont slack off of cut corners. This is based on Berklee Minimum Requirements for Graduation and a Degree in Performance, so studing this and applying it should really help anyone.

1. Major Scale & Modes
    • 2 Octaves
    • Triads & Inversions (work up to 2 octaves)
    • Broken Thirds & Sixths (work up to 2 octaves)
    • Chord Structures & Tensions
    2. Melodic Minor & Modes
    • 2 Octaves
    • Triads & Inversions
    • Broken Thirds & Sixths
    3. Harmonic Minor & Modes
    • 2 Octaves
    • Triads & Inversions
    • Broken Thirds & Sixths
    4. Symmetrical & Diminished
    • 2 Octaves
    • Triads & Inversions (Both Maj and Min from each degree)
    • Broken Thirds & sixths
    5. Reading
    • Rhythmic – Clapping & Slapping Rhythm packet
    • Chord Changes - Real Book Walking (ensamble playing)
    • Melodic – Bach (traditional prepared piece)
    6. Ear Training
    • Pitch Singing
    • Solfége
    • Transcription
    7. Pentatonics*
    • 2 Octaves
    • Broken Thirds or fourths as needed
    8. Learn a new scale

*Pentatonics are any scale with 5 notes, including, but not limited to, Major, Minor, Blues, and Japanese scales.

2. christoph h.

christoph h.

Mar 26, 2001
    Germany
    hm, "two hours" is a bit optimistic. :)