1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question about chords

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by zr1bill, Jan 1, 2012.

1. Hi- I'm quite new to theory and I'm trying to understand chords. Using the C Major scale, if I play C E G, it is maj. But if I start on the D, and play D F A, I believe it is minor. What I'm not grasping is how or why a minor chord can be part of a major scale. If you play D F# A I think that would be major, but it is not every other note of the C major scale.
    Thanks

2. mcglyph

mcglyph

Aug 17, 2011
    You are quite new to theory, so, you have the internet, GOOGLE basic music theory, or try this, studybass.com. Studybass.com is one of the most awesome free sites. To answer just your question though, CEG is maj because in the C scale there are no sharps or flats. In the case of DFA well in the key of D that F should be an F#, because in the key of D the F and incidentally, the C is sharp. A minor chord has the TONALITY of minor because in the C scale a D chord is going to be minor due to no F# being in the C scale. I recommend, This is your Brain on Music," when you get a chance. It's not a music book, though any musician will benefit from it. If sharp and flat are outside your realm of understanding, I direct you to studybass.com, or perhaps youtube. My way of teaching ALWAYS starts with learning the scales first, then chord theory, then songs, though some will disagree. Best of luck to you.

In a major chord the third will be sharped.

DF#A C C# D D# EF F# G G# A A# BC This is your piano

Starting at C count the steps to D. Now do so from D to F#...see that? 1/2 steps..C>C#>D# Whole steps..C>D

so from C to E is...2 whole steps away from C if you were to make a C minor chord then you'd play C D# G...