Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

questions...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Serac, May 29, 2005.

1. Serac

Serac

May 29, 2005
    allright, I'm a newb, but I always wanted to get a bass guitar (the electric ones) I dunno if this is the right place to do it, but there is no newb board (needs to be added).

I wanted to play the opening bass to "FTW" by the Vines, and the awesome bass in "Stockholm Syndrome" by Muse.

I don't know which Bass guitars make those sounds though...

Could someone tell me which ones? Like is it a double bass, an electric bass, and which brands if that really matters??

Also, what's the advantage/disadvantage of playing, 4,5,6,7,8 or unfretted bass guitar?

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/fg=102/g=bass/search/detail/base_pid/519634/
    Is this a good deal, and do you think I would be able to play with the same songs as the ones I listed above?

2. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    Welcome to the board bro!

First off, my Ares isn't working, so I can't help you with those songs. I'm assuming they're using an electric bass, not an Upright. I could be wrong though.

2) As a great bass player by the name of Jaco pastorius once said, "It's all in the fingers" If you take the time and disipline to sit down and pratice, you will find thatyou can get a million sounds out of your bass.

3) About more than 4 or 5 strings, it's all a matter of personal likes. Some people play differently than others. like John Turner, who owns a double neck bass, 7 string Fretted/ 7 String Fretless. Why? Who knows, but it's really cool, and the guy is a monster. And Stew McKinsey who owns a 10-string bass.