Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

quick wiring question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by somethingshort, Sep 23, 2003.

1. somethingshort

somethingshort

Aug 22, 2003
    I in the process of purchasing a QSC RMX 800 and a SansAmp RBI, my question is what would be the best way to wire it? I would like to buy the cables at the same time to save on shipping.

QSC -> Speakon Cable -> SansAmp -> 1/4 inch cable -> Avatar 210

Also, do Speakon cables function the much the same as instrument cables in terms of price? You get a nicer cable, but will it affect tone/output much to go with a cheaper one?

Does that look right? This will be the first preamp/poweramp I've ever owned so I'm a bit new to the subject. Thanks for the help guys.

2. somethingshort

somethingshort

Aug 22, 2003
  3. ChenNuts44

ChenNuts44

Nov 18, 2001
    Davenport, IA
    you're definitely going to want that pre-amp BEFORE the power-amp.

sansamp -> qsc -> cabinet

4. somethingshort

somethingshort

Aug 22, 2003
    what wiring method would you suggest?

5. somethingshort

somethingshort

Aug 22, 2003
    anyone? :meh:

6. The output of the RBI-

On the back of the RBI in the "output" section you can use either XLR (mic chord) or 1/4". An XLR to XLR connection is going to give you the best sound quality. A sheilded 1/4"-1/4" patch cable would suffice. I'm not sure how to set up your particular amp to function in bridged mono so check your owners manual. Most likely, you'll run into channel 1, flip a few switches, and run out of ch1.

On the ouput of the RMX800-

You can get a Speakon cable that will allow you to use the bridged function (running it out of the channel 1 output to your cab). It is wired differently then a regular one. There are some other guys here on TB that can direct you on how to go about that. A banana connection would also work just fine.