1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

R&B/Neo-Soul Bass Techniques?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by riding, May 21, 2011.

1. riding

riding

May 21, 2011
    I am trying to find good examples, techniques, and licks/fills used in these types of music - R&B and Neo-Soul. Examples of artists within these genres might include: Maxwell, D'Angelo, Erykah Badu, Musiq Soulchild, and Raphael Saadiq.

Does anyone have any good links/tutorials/videos or even good books I could pick up?

I am a beginner and this is the types of music that I would primarily, but not limited to, play.

2. Start with the obvious man being James Jameson early and mid motown. Bob Babbitt early Philly to Detroit into Motown. Mr. Willie Weeks is another very smooth stylists. 'Your examples are disciples of these greats so why not start at the beginning and move right along in the history of R&B into Soul.
    You can listen to the early Blues recordings (Chicago)featuring Mr. Willie Dixon who the above mentioned people were influenced by.
    If you were interested in playing Blues Guitar you wouldn't start by listening to Eric Clapton, you'd refer to the people who taught him Freddy, Albert & BB King & many more), beginning at the inception of a particular style will inspire you as opposed to be caught up trying to emulate or copy. In the beginning you can't help trying to duplicate but your end result is to try to develop your own style within a specific type of music. I'm sure the internet can afford you tons of literature and audio help by simply googling the names I suggested to start with. You have alot of fun studing ahead of you, good luck. Doc.

3. riding

riding

May 21, 2011