Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Raleigh, NC Area Teacher Preferences?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by JJBluegrasser, Jan 31, 2006.

1. JJBluegrasser

JJBluegrasser Wannabe Snazzy Dresser

Apr 17, 2003
    USA, Raleigh, NC
    Hi all,
    So can any of you Raleigh based DB player recommend a teacher. I know some of the choices, but I'm looking for recommendations. I'd like to find someone layed back enough to work with what I've already got and push me to the next level.

2. JJBluegrasser

JJBluegrasser Wannabe Snazzy Dresser

Apr 17, 2003
    USA, Raleigh, NC
    Hi guys,
    I thought it might be time again to revive this thread, and see if anyone has any ideas?

Jason

3. Peter Ferretti

Peter Ferretti Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2005
    NYC
    There should be quite a few up there. Wait...that is where the North Carolina Symphony is right? I studied with Lenny Finkelshtyn for a while, and am jealous of anyone who studies with him permanently. He was one of the better, if not best, teachers I have ever had. I lost is ECU card with his number on it, his email is finkelshteynl@mail.ecu.edu though. Drop him a line, it's worth it.

also try and check out: Craig Brown (cmbrown4@earthlink.net)

if your doing jazz check out Steve Haines: 336-256-0105 or email: sjhaines@uncg.edu
    Good Luck,
    Peter

4. Jack Budrow is also in Raleigh. He was principal of the North Carolina Symphony before Lenny. His e-mail address is WBudrow@aol.com. I did my undergrad at Michigan State with him. He is an amazing teacher and a great guy in general. I also studied with Craig Brown at the Brevard Music Center for two summers. He is a very good teacher too. I've never met Lenny but I have only heard good things.

5. bolo

bolo

May 29, 2005
    Apex, NC