1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Recording bass for a beginner

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Calzonge, May 17, 2019.

1. Calzonge

Calzonge

Jul 30, 2016
    I've played bass for quite a few years but I've never recorded anything at a studio or by myself. My girlfriend makes music in logic/garage band and she records her electric piano straight to the usb-port on her macbook. We would like to work together and add some of my basslines to her songs, but I haven't got a clue how.

I have two basses (one passive and one active) and a little fender practice amp. As a total beginner in recording I'd like some advice and gear recommendations to help me record my bass.

And like I said, I'm a total beginner so could you explain everything in detail and without any proffessional jargon. I'd really appreciate some help.

LowActionHero likes this.
  2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    knumbskull, MattZilla and Aqualung60 like this.
  3. bholder

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Oh, then on the computer side you'll need some DAW software - I use Audacity - free and simple (albeit somewhat limited).

4. Calzonge

Calzonge

Jul 30, 2016
    Damn that was a fast reply.

I wanna make sure I understand everything and don't end up buying something I don't know how to use, so do I just plug in my bass straight to the interface and then plug that into a computer?

And also how does the sound quality of an usb interfave compare to one of those cheap adapters?

5. Calzonge

Calzonge

Jul 30, 2016
    Yeah I've used audacity for some school projects so I know how works, but doesn't garage band allow you to do the same thing?

6. bholder

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state