Redwood topwood?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Silversorcerer, Aug 16, 2004.

1. I've been studying the old threads here pretty seriously here for about a month and finally decided to jump in. I've been playing DB for over a year now, EB for many years. My first DB is a plywood 3/4 Lidl (similar to Strunal and made in Luby) and I have decided to upgrade to a carved bass more to my personal specs. This Lidl (little?) bass has felt smallish to me, even though it has the 41.5 inch measure and is about 6' tall without the endpin (which is extended all the way while I'm playing), and I really liked a bigger bass that I played on once and it was a five string 7/8. I also like to build things and when faced with the price of a better carved bass and the relative rarity of basses bigger than 3/4, plus the 5-string preference, I purchased H. S. Wake's book with the intention of building my own, after convincing a local luthier to take me on as an apprentice.

As I began to look for materials, it occurred to me that building your own can be even more expensive than buying a factory made bass of quality materials. That led me to investigating alternative woods that may not be in such high demand as the spruce topwoods.