1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Repeating songs at a paying gig? Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by tspallone, Sep 25, 2013.

1. tspallone

tspallone

Oct 13, 2011
    Nanuet, NY
    I've been playing with a couple guys for a few months at a rehearsal studio, just to keep the live thing going and the drummer came in with a paying gig. It's been very disorganized from the beginning in my opinion and it's a jazz standard type of thing but, it does move to open blues jams. Problem is, we're basically a 3 piece and are having a hard time getting keys and more importantanly a sax player to play melodies. It's a low key gig at a farmers market and the pay is way more than I'd get working an hourly wage a Target but, we've got 6 songs for a 2 hour gig. AND, the sax player that's supposed to sit in missed the 2nd to last rehearsal and we've only played with him once. We've got about 10 days to the gig. Like I said, it's a no pressure thing and the drummer who set the whole thing up doesn't feel that playing a 6 song set 3 or 4 times is going to be a problem. Probably not but, I'm uneasy about it. I sent them all some sheet music and some mp3's to long, easy songs that I feel could act as filler and some EVERYONE knows or, SHOULD know. (Do it again (Steely Dan)....Rise (Herb Albert)) but, it was shot down to favor playing the 6 bits over and over again.

What are your thoughts on this. I'm gonna do it, of course but, I could have added an easy 30 minutes to the set only to have to repeat the whole things twice, which, I think is acceptable but, barely.

Thanks.

2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA