1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Replacement Bridge for EB-3 copy

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Tom0Blam0, Jan 22, 2015.

1. Tom0Blam0

Tom0Blam0 Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2014
    I posted on here a few days ago about a bass I am restoring, with the intention of putting a hipshot 2-point supertone in; however, after some research, I decided I either wanted to keep the current bridge (a Badass 1 bridge that was modded by the previous owner to fit the short scale) or to use a Schaller 3d-4 I have (since it has adjustable saddles I figure it may be a better choice).

Does anyone have any thoughts regarding this mod? I like the BA bridge, but the saddles were not modded very well and I'm concerned they might have been responsible for some fretbuzz I was having on the bass (I could be totally wrong, though - I'm no setup pro). I think Mike Watt used both, so I know they'll get the job done - I just want to play this thing again! The schaller is great and I like the fact that I can adjust the saddles which is not the case with the BA.

2. iiipopes

iiipopes Supporting Member

May 4, 2009
    I still believe you would be better off with the Epiphone 3-point bridge, as it is designed for the bass, probably only needs the 3rd hole drilled, will look authentic to the instrument, will have stability and proper adjustable saddles, and there is one for sale in Classifieds right now for $10.

3. 96tbird

96tbird PLEASE STAND BY

First the badass has not much to do with fret buzz other than if the saddles are too low. The frets uniformity of level, relief and straightness of the neck dictate how low action can go without buzz. So the badass isn't to blame just because the slots are a little messy.