1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

RH technique; complete Newbe question...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by MarkM13, Mar 29, 2015.

1. MarkM13

MarkM13

Mar 29, 2015
    CT - USA
    Greetings,

I am brandnew to the instrument. I've been a drummer for 35+ years but have always been fascinated with the electric bass.
    I finally stopped wondering and am jumping in. Ive been watching videos and looking at sites but still have a question about RH technique.

When alternating fingers 1 (index) and 2 (middle) do I lead with the first or second finger. That is, if I am playing 1/8th notes will finger 1 be on the down beats and 2 on the upbeats? Does it matter? It feels more natural for finger 2 to play down beats and 1 to play upbeats. But, I want to make sure I'm not starting any bad habits.

Thanks,
    Mark

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 29, 2015
  2. If you are teaching yourself you will get some bad habits. I have a lot of friends that play some pretty good music with a few bad habits. I suggest you get to know your instrument right now, do what is comfortable or spend the money for three months of lessons. That should get you started correctly. Bass guitar for dummies is a great book for getting started. Your choice. I would not worry right now about bad habits. But that is my opinion, I know others feel they must be correct. At this stage of my learning I did not worry about bad habits..... and look at me now. LOL

Last edited: Apr 2, 2015
  3. You could go either way. I usually lead with my middle finger, but there are plenty out there that lead with their index. I would say that upright players might be used to lead with their index because you can get more skin touching the string that way. Try both and see what tone and feel you prefer. You should be comfortable leading with both since some passages pretty much force you to do that.