Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ribs!!!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by The Golden Boy, Jun 2, 2005.

1. I'm a total novice at grilling, and a few weeks ago I attempted to do a rack of ribs on the grill. They turned out great, but I'm sure there are good recipes/techniques to get the perfect rack of ribs.

I have a gas grill and got a smoker box with some hickory chips in it, put the ribs on the opposite side of the flame and let them cook all day. Today, I've got twice the amount of ribs- so there's a rack on the upper level and a rack on the lower level. I didn't season the ribs at all- and I'm looking for suggestions for seasoning prior to cooking.

Anyone care to share any recipes or techniques?

2. I'll have to get my wife's recipe. She just did some last weekend (in the oven for 8 hours). Some of the best I've had.

Mike

3. jive1

jive1 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 16, 2003
    Alexandria,VA
    Owner/Retailer: Jive Sound
    8 hours in the oven, man that's torture. I don't think I could smell good ribs cookin for that long without being tempted to break in and devour.

I'll be watchin this thread. I'd love to get a kick-A recipe myself.

4. First, you have got to get rid of that gas grill . . . but we can work with that. Here is my recipe for a dry rub . . . I won't even give it to my family, but I will give it to a TB'er.

RIB SEASONING
    Makes about 2 cups

1 cup sugar (or brown sugar, but be careful about burning it)
    1/2 cup salt
    2 tablespoons paprika
    2 tablespoons red pepper
    1 tablespoon ground cumin
    1 tablespoon ground celery seed
    --mix together, rub all over ribs and let set for about 20 minutes. It will get wet, then you can put it on the grill without it falling off (like it would in the dry state)