1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rigth Hand Technique - ( Old style )

Discussion in 'Ask Lynn Seaton' started by David Casillas, Oct 31, 2010.

1. Hello, I'm a jazz bassist with a classical background. Unfortunately I never really get to find a solid rigth hand technique.

I have been given instruccions from many pro's around here (althougth I cannot keep a steady class since they live to far). I have read many interviews from Top-Players and view many videos of the greatest of all time trying to find their techniques.

Since there are many different aproaches I will start saying that I fell better when I play in the classic way ( one finger most of the time in a Mingus style ), and I never feel at home playing the two finger style perpendicular to strings .

These are the main concerns, which really get worst as tempo raises:
    1. - Trying to keep a balance between relaxation and sound.
    2.- Finding an aproach that works to me to keep the motion: the "Chiken Wing " from Rufus Reid's DVD vs. the wrist motion a local pro teach me vs. the " just finger movement" I read in an interview with great bassist I can't remenber now vs. etc...

Since I understand it's imposible to get any input when you not even have see me play a note, I will just ask for any serious resource if you know where I can find some help.

Unfortunately there is a big gap in this area of technique in terms of instruccional material, ( although people seems to find their way ).

P.D: I have discovered a really nice trio recording with sax Peter weniger and Jeff Hamilton on drums (no piano), a great oportunity to get all the nuences of your great sound.

2. ryanhagler

ryanhagler Supporting Member

Looks like Lynn missed this one. If it's not a faux paux, I'll gladly chime in.