Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by tommythecat_22, Mar 26, 2005.

1. tommythecat_22

Mar 26, 2005
    first I'd like to say hallo; I'm new in this forum
    sorry for my horrible English- I'm Italian.

now my question:
    I'm playing the E-bass now for several years, and I'm dreaming of playing the double bass. I love psycho- and rockabilly and the sound of the slapbass.
    so now I'm looking for a nice bass, which is good for this music. the problem is, I'm a student and so I "want" to spend as little money as possible (up to 1000$).
    a friend showed me the King Slapbass, but the shipping is to expensive (is there any chance to get one in europe?)
    then there is the Engelhardt Em-1 Maestro or this one:

what do you think about it?
    thank you
  2. BassGreaser

Aug 22, 2002
    Austin, TX
  3. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Dig through the Newbie threads as well. There's a lot of information there.

Since it looks like you might be playing almost exclusively with the amp, acoustic properties aren't as important as it would be otherwise, but you still want something that is constructed well.

Also, you can probably get something that you're looking for by hooking up with a teacher (which you'll need anyhow) who can use his connections (student, luthiers, etc.) to find you a good bass in your price range.
  4. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Although the bass you linked us to is $999, be prepared to spend another $200-$500 on better strings, pickup, possible new bridge, and endpin. This is all considered "setup" work, and is usually needed when you buy an upright for under $1000. I know they advertise "ready to play out of the box", but that is rarely true.

Are there any bass shops in your area?
  5. Damon Rondeau

Damon Rondeau Journeyman Clam Artist Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby