1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sad state of affairs on TBDB

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Paul Warburton, Oct 3, 2008.

1. Please don't take any of this personally. This is my own opinion.
    I've been posting here for a few years, in and out because of personal problems and I understand everybody can't be here all the time, but where the hell is everybody?
    I actually considered TBDB my family away from home. There was a vibe of brotherhood, humor, information regarding musical ideas, tips from us old pros as regards to playing in a pro setting, info on jazz tunes and most of all, done with a lot of love and compassion.
    I find myself posting with a certain edge because I feel alone out there at times.
    Where are all our beloved luthiers? Where's all the color and personality?
    I'm 66 now and some of you will attribute my attitude to my old age. I've been around the jazz block a few times as you can see in my profile, but yet I feel very young in musical years.
    After some serious set-backs in my personal life , i'm ready to start all over again in my career as a well known jazz bassist.
    In this spirit, i'd love to share some of this with you all, as I did in my " Bill Evans Chronicles" with my close friend luthier and fine bassist Bob Branstetter.
    I find my excursions into TBDB now energy draining and dry.
    Some of my old brothers are still here trying to help put the energy back, but I think we need more.
    Please forgive me if you feel i'm just an old cat trying to re-live the past. I don't think so.
    Regards, PW

2. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA