safest strap locks...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by flury, May 30, 2004.

1. flury

May 21, 2004
    Who makes the best strap lock system?
  2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I like Schaller strap locks. Basically schaller and dunlop are the main brands.
  3. mcbosler

May 12, 2000
    Plano, TX
    If you need a strap as well, planet waves makes some with straplocks built onto the ends of the strap. I was skeptical at first, but I've been using one of those for about 3 years now with no problems. Basically they work like heavy-duty plastic handcuffs that go around the strap buttons.
  4. bste9

Jun 15, 2000
    St. Louis
    I have one of the planet with straps with the locks on it and i would advise against them. I was a band practice and the release was presses against me and the lock came undone and my bass had a meeting with the concrete floor and ended up with a cracked neck.
  5. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    One of my straps has those. The strap itself isnt cushioned so i dont usually use it, but the straplock cuffs work well.
  6. Yeah i have a planet waves strap locking strap , its great and very comfortable, but im not to keen on the tribal design.
  7. neptoon

Jul 25, 2000
    summerville, sc
    gregory bruce campbell uses deck screws and fender washers...that strap ain't goin' NOWHERE
  8. I have been giving that a tought.

Bolting on a strap.
  9. Fred312b

Fred312b What if I want to play jazz precisely? Supporting Member

Apr 23, 2002
    Chicago, IL
    that's what billy sheehan does... so obviously bolting the strap to your axe will make you as good as him ;)
  10. neptoon

Jul 25, 2000
    summerville, sc
    peter steele bolts his strap on, too...with eye bolts...and his strap is a chain...
  11. Forget these strap locks hehe..!!!!

All you need is two things

1. a comfortable strap with a tight fitting around the strap holders..

2. The Red Rubber rings from a Grolsch Flip Top Beer Bottle..places over the end