1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Searching for a bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by skisagooner, May 8, 2010.

1. I'm a drummer looking to pick up the bass guitar, and after reading about its parts on this website, I decided I'd be looking for a bass that fits these criteria:

4 string
    24 frets
    P-J pickups
    34" scale length

Most of the bass with P-J pickups don't have 24 frets, and those with 24 frets mostly have humbuckers.

So if you guys know of any model that you can suggest to me that'd be great. My budget is for entry level/beginners basses, since it'll only be my first bass.

EDIT:

1) ESP LTD B-50 Electric Bass
    [​IMG]

2) Yamaha RBX170 Electric Bass
    V3_EN_RBX170_BLACK.

2. VinKreepo

VinKreepo

Nov 13, 2009
    There are lots of 90's and early 2000's basses that fit that criteria. Check eBay, but the rule of thumb is don't buy it till you try it. Hit your local music shop for some feel first. Then you'll know what kind of wood you want, what size neck, what shape, passive or active electronics, what weight body, etc.

3. Thanks for the tip, really. But are you trying to say basses like that are rare these days?

4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Too bad about the budget. Click on the pic.

[​IMG]

5. No reason for 24 frets... Get a Yamaha BB414 and be happy.

6. VinKreepo

VinKreepo

Nov 13, 2009
    You see that up there^^^ there's a modern example. Now that you've seen a modern one, go look at the modern price. Entry level basses just don't exist for what you want. It's better to buy an intermediate bass used

7. Plus active basses suck. :bag:

8. VinKreepo

VinKreepo

Nov 13, 2009
    You're going to need more than a brick wall to hide behind...