1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Searching for an Audition Level Instrument...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by JPHYeoh, Oct 19, 2013.

1. JPHYeoh

JPHYeoh

Jan 22, 2013
    Calgary
    Hey all,

So I've gotten from many colleagues and teachers that it's time for s new bass! I am in my second year of University studying music, to give an idea! I believe my budget is around 20k-30k give or take.

My question is how does one go about in this quest for a new bass? My location also adds to the challenge of course, but I'd like to know if there are pointers and tips for my little adventure, and if any of you have stories to share about your basses! Thanks!

2. Heifetzbass

Heifetzbass Commercial User

Feb 6, 2004
    Upstate, SC
    Owner, Gencarelli Bass Works and Fine String Instruments, LLC.
    Go play basses. Budget for travel and take someone that knows what they're listening for. It's really that simple.

I would recommend that you look into new basses that fall into your price range. They are winning jobs as they are clear and play well because of the design.

There's a great Jackstadt for sale in the classifieds. Lots of players have been winning gigs on those and it's cheaper than a new one and plays great.

BG

3. MikeCanada

MikeCanada

Aug 30, 2011
    Toronto, ON
    Old basses