Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Searching for the Best and Smallest Bass Amplifier

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by macmrkt, Aug 23, 2004.

1. macmrkt

macmrkt Banned

Dec 4, 2002
    A big thanks to all the thoughtful members of talkbass.com for sharing their experiences. I wouldn't have been as successful in my search for better sound without your help. I hope my comments are helpful to others.

I apologize in advance for the length of this post. I don't know how to express this correctly in a short form.

Qualifiers: My search was very limited in scope. I wanted the smallest and lightest setup. I cut off my search below 12" based cabinets as I decided they would be too big and/or heavy. I'm know that I eliminated lots of otherwise great gear. I am now a double bassist, but for 25 year, played bass guitar exclusively. My comments are based (pun not intended!) on the results I got from DB. However, I've found that my bass guitar results usually mimic DB results. Additionally, my performance parameters, for the purposes of these comments, are acoustic jazz, in small rooms, up to about 15x40 with medium to high ceilings. Roughly the size of a small jazz club. I don't know what results one would get in larger rooms, on big stages or playing louder music. My jazz trio is a moderatly loud group. The pianist uses a Roland 700 keyboard through twin EV PA speakers. The drummer is heavy handed. Having enough power and most importantly, clarity, is a requirement. Lastly and most important, the setup must "sound like my bass, only louder." Although this sounds like an objective demand, I found this to be a lot more subjective than I would have expected.