Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Shen SB150 vs 180

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by driedleaves, Jan 30, 2004.

1. driedleaves

driedleaves Guest

Dec 26, 2003
    Italy
    Howdy folks,

I'm new here and I'm trying to get as much info as I can about double basses. I'm a guitarist and I've studied music and guitar for many years, but now I'm in love with the sound of the bass and I want to buy my first instrument to start learning.
    I'd be playing mostly jazz and I was thinking about a hybryd Shen, to get a better sound if I decide to experiment with the bow later.

So, has anyone here compared the two hybrids they offer, 150 and 180? I only care about the sound, and if the difference was mainly cosmetical I'd go with the cheaper one.
    What do you think?

Any help will be really appreciated. Thanks.

2. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    Here is a recent thread showing the 180 that I just bought. The URL includes a review in progress:

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=113222

Nick Lloyd assured me that the only difference between the 150 and the 180 is cosmetic and that they were alike tonally. He did say, however, that he found the differences in look to be significant. Even if I shouldn't say, the 180 is a very nice looking bass.

They didn't say specifically, but I got the impression that not only do they use the European figured laminates on the 180, but they also use the nicer carved tops. The grain on mine is very even and fairly tight.

It was certainly worth the $500 to me, but I can also understand the argument for getting the less expensive one. I am certain you'll be happy with either.

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    Oh, and forgive my rudeness. I am delighted to say "welcome to talkbass."

Charles

4. driedleaves

driedleaves Guest