Shooting in another school

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by karrot-x, Mar 21, 2005.

1. What an awful waste. I can't imagine what it would be like to lose a family member or friend in what appears to be a completely random murder. There's got to be some way of preventing this from happening so often.
  2. bassman314

bassman314 I seem to be a verb, an evolutionary process... Gold Supporting Member

Mar 13, 2005
    Bay Area, CA

Actually, there is a way to stop it... it's just really friggin' difficult...

I grew up in Central Washington. I graduated from Quincy High School in 1996. 30 miles east, there's another town by the name of Moses Lake, WA. 1996 was the same year Barry Lukaidas shot up his 7th grade algebra class in Moses Lake.

Yeah, the coach who tackled him after he shot up his algebra class taught one of my best friends how to wrestle...

Saying "We never saw it coming" is absolute bull****. The signs are there, if you choose to see them.

There is no one thing at fault, unless it's all of society. Peers who tease them and ostracize them on a daily basis. Teachers and administrators who don't give a **** about their job. A media that glorifies random violence. Lack of strong communities.

Above all, is the failure of the parents and guardians to see it coming. That is the biggest thread I see. The parents aren't there to ask "How was your day" and just show their own kids the love those kids need to get passed all the other BS in their lives.

Honestly, I (and I'm willing to bet I'm not the only one on this forum) could have been that kid, had my parents not cared enough to keep me from being destructive.

It does take a whole village to raise a child, but first it takes a family. It takes atleast one adult role model who is willing to love 100% unconditionally.