Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Should I be a soloist?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Shmelbee, Mar 28, 2005.

1. Shmelbee

Shmelbee

Mar 28, 2005
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Hey guys,

Ive been lurking for a while, but have recently come across a pressing issue.

I am a junior in high school. I have been playing DB for 5 years. All my teacher works with me are solos. I have been in his orchestra for 3 years, and I do exerpts and that kind of thing on my own. I am starting to choose colleges, and I dont know what I should go for.

I am going to study with Gary Karr this summer, maybe he will give me some advice. It seems though that when I practice, I cant ever practice the orchestra stuff because I can play it right away, so I opt to work on the Big Pieces.

Any suggestions?

2. In my opinion, the orchestra/opera pieces ARE the 'big pieces'.

My suggestion is that you try to look at the big picture a little more. Why is the audience there? To listen to the bass parts specifically? Highly unlikely.

Music, especially involving an orchestra, is about teamwork and presenting the ENTIRE piece as a whole. Try to look at orchestral bass parts in that light - as a support to the greater vision of the piece. Find ways to see how the bass part fits and contributes to this.

Work on your sound for that 'little' pizzicato here and there - see if you can lean on it in just the right right way (or NOT lean on it in just the right way).

One of my favourite bits of music I've played lately has been a
    stupid 'little' pizzicato in the slow movement Scheherazade. It's really nothing on paper, but it is one of the most satisfying nothings out there. The great operas are full of such moments.

In short, try to look around and listen more. I think your 'easy' orchestra bass parts will become more important than you think they are.

3. Shmelbee

Shmelbee