Should I use compression?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by OneKillWonder, May 13, 2004.

1. I've never used compression before and I know very little about it... here is my situation:

I play hard as hell (Finger style). I like the aggresive sound i get from this but because the attack of the note is so hard, the sustain tends to pale in comparison to the original note. im looking for a more even sound without changing my technique. Will a compressor help at all? thanks
  2. you should try one out and see. in theory it should do what you want.
  3. 4Mal

4Mal Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2002
    Columbia River Gorge
    I use compression and limiting a lot; not a lot of compression, but a lot of the time! It will help smooth out the drastic volume variances due to varying picking techniques however - you might be better served by finding a different way to get that aggro sound. Overly strong finger picking can lead to other issues, not the least of which is carpal tunnel. Been there, done that and bought the Tee shirt ... it's no fun. I had to take a year off and then I had to learn to play *correctly*.

I use the compressor / limiter as I move between light slap, finger style and vary my picking hand position for the variation in tone. A bit of comp helps to keep the overall vol in line for me. Your Mileage May Vary!
  4. Bass of Galt

Bass of Galt Guest

Mar 25, 2004
    Scrotillia Falls
    compression on bass simply rules. even the big boys who claim they just "go direct" in the studio are still being recorded and/or mixed with very nice high end compression.

Compressor pedals blow though. Get a rack unit - and get the best one you can afford. It's better to do without one if you can't afford a good one than to use soem crappy pedal. I use focusrite cuz I like the character it imparts.