Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Show me the groovers!

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by big empty, Oct 11, 2005.

1. big empty

big empty

Oct 11, 2005
    Diamond Bar, CA
    Hey, I'm new here and this is my first post. To make a long and uninteresting story short, I was a pop punk bass player in high school and after a couple years finally broke out of it. Now I've been playing for 5 years and I finally found out about the pocket and the groove. Unfortunately, my "punk rock" upbringing has made it hard for me to just lay back and groove.

This being said, I need some grooving influences ASAP to immerse myself in. I just ordered the Donny Hathaway Live CD, and I've been working on a Motown bass book off and on for a few months. What are the sickest Jamerson/Babbitt songs that I would not have heard on the radio? What are some other bands along the lines of the Meters that just lay it down constantly? Tell me some other groovers to check out with their most grooving songs, and I will do so. Thanks in advance!

Adam

2. mahrous

mahrous

Aug 13, 2005
    Egypt
    Francis Rocco Prestia of Tower of Power

3. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

The late Bernard Edwards from Chic.
    Jaco Pastorius ("Come On, Come Over" has one of the tastiest grooves ever played to me).

4. big empty

big empty

Oct 11, 2005
    Diamond Bar, CA
    By the way, I'm nerdy so I made this a couple months ago:Bass Shrine

These are the cats I already know of. I would love to have twice as many influences so keep them coming.

5. glwanabe

glwanabe Guest

Apr 21, 2002