1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Show your dubstep pedalboard.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by René_Julien, Jul 21, 2012.

1. René_Julien

René_Julien

Jun 26, 2008
    Belgium
    I can't believe there isn't a thread like this already.

Been searching the forums a lot these last days on how people approach this genre with effects. So many different tactics being used.
    We seem to have quite a few dubstep bassists among us here, some are even doing it very succesful with a band.

Let's see what you are running, and how and why.
    (Soundsamples and links to your band would also be cool.)

Can't show anything myself, because this request is out of curiosity.
    I'm about to experiment in this genre myself, and I am not experienced on synths and filters.
    I set my first steps into dubstep today, using whatever I have lying around. Maxon CP9PRO+ -> Big John Grannypuker -> EBS BassIQ -> EBS Tremolo. I don't know if this chain is useful, haven't had any succes. I am very new to the genre but I am getting into it in the last weeks.

tl;dr
    Show your dupstep pedalboard! This thread is about you if you consider yourself playing dubstep. Either in a succesful band or just in your bedroom.

Thank you. :)

2. JohnDavisNYC

JohnDavisNYC

Jan 11, 2008
    Brooklyn, NY
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar, D'Addario
    working on a new record with nerve... i wouldn't necessarily say that i play dubstep, in a purist sense... (because in a purist sense, one doesn't 'play' dubstep...)

but i worked on a track today with a definite dubstep vibe.

just a little taste...

john

3. Very Cool

4. Jason Hall

Jason Hall

Jun 21, 2012
    Fort Wayne, IN
    This is something I've considered but I lack the fundage to put together at the moment. Here's some gear I've found that's relevant though.