1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Side position markers

Discussion in 'Bluegrass [DB]' started by Tenbrooks, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Tenbrooks

Tenbrooks

Nov 26, 2011
    Magnolia, TX
    I'm new to the upright bass but am excited to start learning. I will only be playing bluegrass so no bowing is needed.

I would like to place side position markers on my fingerboard but I don't know the best place for them or how many would be helpful. Is there anyone out there that can give me some guidance as to where on the fingerboard these side position dots should be located?

I know that technically, I should not use them but I believe they will help and I've decided to put them on.

thanks.........

2. Jake deVilliers

Jake deVilliers Commercial User

May 24, 2006
    Crescent Beach, BC
    Owner of The Bass Spa, String Repairman at Long & McQuade Vancouver
    I like to put little dabs of White Out at 3, 5, 7 and 12 ie G, A, B and the octave on the 'E' string. Its a safety thing...

3. Tenbrooks

Tenbrooks

Nov 26, 2011
    Magnolia, TX
    Jake, that's exactly what I was looking for. My luthier suggested at the G, A, B position and I asked her to include the E as well. You've just confirmed what I was thinking.

Many thanks for the quick reply..........

Bryce

4. I put tape at 3, 5, 7, 9, 12. Basically the harmonics and a couple of guide notes.

5. I keep it simple, a dot on the side of the fretboard at the "5th fret" (To check the relative tuning quickly) and the octave ("12th fret").

Fog