1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. We are aware of an issue affecting search results for classifieds searches and advanced search functions.  Actively working on a fix, thanks for your patience!

Sidewinders, Multi-coils and other hard to find pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by orange joe, Jan 27, 2015.

1. orange joe

orange joe I am serious and don't call me Shirley

Sep 7, 2012
    Albany NY
    I got roped into the Sgd situation because I wanted to know about sidewinders.After all that was said and done I ended up with a sidewinder from Big T pickups.I am now pretty interested in the multi-coils everyone is talking about.I just wanted to open up a general discussion on the more unusual types of pickups.I am still learning about pickups.I just got a set from Big T pickups.A sidewinder for the neck and a humbucker for the bridge.I'll have a multi-coil on the way in a month or so.I'd like to hear your opinions and experiences on less common pickups.What are the differences of these type of pickups and more traditional style pickups?Also if there are any other interesting pickups out there you'd like to mention by all means.

Sartori likes this.
  2. IWieldTheSpade

IWieldTheSpade

Mar 15, 2010
    I'm about to take the leap into trying out a multicoil. I really like the tone of Wal basses, so after playing exclusively PJ's on my fretted basses for quite some time now I thought I might try something different. As it's just for a personal project though, I'm going the most cost effective way possible and making my own pickup from a cheap spool of wire and some sewing bobbins :D I'm quite eager to see how it all turns out.