Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by McHack, Dec 17, 2005.

1. McHack

Jul 29, 2003
    Central Ohio!
    Hopefully, someone can answer this for me, as I'm not technically savvy enough to have dealt w/ a situation any better than I did last night.

Here's the gist.

Last night, I went to GC as I really just wanted to research cables & power amps... Anyway, I get there, & begin to sniff around the Live Audio section, checking out speaker cables, power amps, etc... I get involved in a discussion who is apparently thier lead sound guy, & I explain what I'm really trying to do, which is build a gig ready bass rig, & incorporate the pieces I have available to me, while allowing for upgrades...

Next thing I know, he's trying to talk me into buying this, and that... well, you NEED a sonic maximizer, and you need this studio quality preamp,,, oh you dont want a bass pre amp,,, if you want it dirty, just get a stomp box, etc, etc, etc...

On one level, I found it somewhat educational, if not a bit overwhelming... but I found myself ill equipped to defend my preconceptions of what I needed. The only thing that kept coming to mind was, if I'm so wrong, why is there even a market for bass specific gear? He seems very knowledgable, but I also kept thinking, "He's just trying to make sales".

Sooooo... I guess I'm a bit flustered, as I guess I dont know EXACTLY what I need, & its driving me nuts.
  2. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    I'll make it simple for you.

What you need:
    -Pre-amp that will bring your bass' signal up to the correct strength for a power amp.

-Power amp that will make you bass loud enough to be heard.

-Speakers that will convert the electrical signal into an audible signal.

-Cables that will transmit the signal between each piece.

and thats it.