1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Signal Chain for bass amp to compressor.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by beaulieuf89, Sep 8, 2017.

1. beaulieuf89

beaulieuf89

Feb 17, 2013
    Montreal
    Hi people!
    I'm fairly new here. And I've been trying to figure out what would be the best way to set-up my signal chain. And I'm not a super pro at audio stuff and being french I sometimes struggle with some of the technical material.

I have an Eden WT-500 amp, Korg Rack Tuner, and a DBX 266XL Compressor/Gate.

Now. This is where I get confused regarding connections.

Would I plug my bass directly into the amp, then use the FX return to connect my compressor and then go out to my cab?

Or perhaps, go directly in through my tuner, then into the compressor, then into the front of my amp?

Or am I not getting something?

If you need any pictures or more info. Let me know!
    Thanks!

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    From what I read, your amp has a built-in compressor.

3. I don't have your amp or compressor, but I've messed around and find I like the sound better running from my wireless to the tuner, then compressor, preamp, and finally to power amp.

It's a personal taste, and what works for my ears might not be to your liking. I've run the compressor in the preamps effects loop, but I like my sound better the way I first described.

There is no right or wrong way, so try it in a few places in your signal chain. You are bound to find where it works to you liking

beaulieuf89 likes this.
  4. hbabels

hbabels Supporting Member

Jul 26, 2015
    Phoenix, AZ
    Agree that you should try hooking up different ways and see what sounds best to you with your bass / style.