1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Silly Question: Active bass with Amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dafin0, Jan 26, 2012.

1. dafin0

dafin0

Jan 26, 2012
    Hi all, my first post here and it could be a silly question

anyway, i have been given a Active bass guitar (Yamaha TRB 1004) and someone else has given me a amp (Kustom KBA 65)

now im very new to all this but from my understanding a Active bass has a pre-amp built in to it. now also the amp iv got has a pre-amp built in.

is there any problem with this setup?

thanks for your time

2. Slowgypsy

Slowgypsy 4 Fretless Strings

Dec 12, 2006
    NY & MA
    No problems... very standard... it's how it is. Active basses have battery powered preamps. And all bass amps have preamps as well. Plug and play... :bassist:

3. dafin0

dafin0

Jan 26, 2012
    Alright cool thanks very much

4. not sure 'bout that particular amp,but keep in mind 'high' and 'low' inputs differ.one is for passive,and the other,naturally,for active basses.there is a strong chance you'll fry your amp if you put active bass into a high input...
    that said,most of the manufacturers are making bass amps with one input that can handle both passive and active(markbass being one),so check your manual!

5. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Whoever told you that, you should pop them in the head with a rubber chicken. That's a total myth, 100% not true. I have never ever plugged an active bass into an active input. Always sounds like crap to me to use the active input. Number of amps I've fried: 0. Number of amps anyone else has fried by doing it: 0.