1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Small cab advice for the ignorant, please

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by pklima, Apr 14, 2006.

1. pklima

pklima Commercial User

May 2, 2003
    Kraków, Polska
    Karoryfer Samples
    I've been playing ampless for the past five years so I'm pretty ignorant of that stuff but I'll finally have to put together a rig. I have a Clarus on the way and need some cab recommendations.

The trouble is that in Poland there are very few cabs available to try in stores aside from the standard 2x10s and 1x15s geared towards BG. Luckily rooms, guitar amps and drum kits here tend to be small so I don't need to be terribly loud. I'd like to get something smaller (2x8 or 1x12, maybe, but not really ultra-light or ultra-portable) and more hi-fi. It looks like I'll have to just mail-order something from Western Europe sight-unseen.

So, any recommendations for a good first cab for a total ignoramus?

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
  3. bassist14

bassist14

Oct 17, 2005
    Germany
    hi pklima,

i use a gk neo 112 (with a markbass-top) and am completly satisfied.
    you can mailorder it here:
    http://www.thomann.de/de/gallien_krueger_neo112_bassbox.htm
    and can give it back in 30 days if you don´t like it.

its small and light and sounds (to me) very balanced.

hope this helps

bassist14

4. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    If you really don't need much volume, how about a PA speaker with an 8" driver to go with the Clarus? I have one of these here at school for quiet concerts and rehearsals, and it sounds great.

5. Yeah, or a cabinet made for keyboards.