Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

small size amp head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dooft11, May 17, 2005.

1. dooft11

dooft11 Supporting Member

Dec 30, 2003
    HongKong
    dear all
    i am looking for a portable size amp head- something like the mesa walkabout is what i considered portable. I am going to use it mainly in the venue which i will only have stage monitor but no bass amp. and i will feed it direct to the pa as a di and i can also use it to upgrade my existing fender combo, since the fender can serve a speaker or power amp. the Sansamp serve me pretty well, i had tried the EBS microbass II which seems pretty good as well since it is so portable and it can work as a headphone amp with headphone out and Aux in....
    Someone tell me that the Mesa walkabout is a decent one, while someone say EA is good.. i am new to amp thing.. so please suggest.
    Thanks

2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    both are good. there are tons to choose from. judging by your location you may not have as many to choose from in hong kong as we might in the usa.

almost all amp heads these days have di outs, and there are lots of very small ones to choose from. try as many as you can.

3. there is a killer music shop in tsim sha tsui. they sell Phil Jones Jones stuff there.

Edit:

Eden actually is cool because of the universal voltage. The Time traveller and smaller WTs are small and light and powerful. I know HK requires lots of walking and hills and stairs and crowds.

I thought originally you were just looking for a decent preamp with a nice DI.

4. Maybe you could try Acoustic Image. They have VERY
    portable amp heads that weigh only about 4 or 5 pounds.

5. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003