Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sound loss phenomenon

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by pbd, Feb 24, 2004.

1. pbd

pbd Commercial User

Jul 17, 2003
    Metro Detroit
    owner Procables N Sound
    I've been a sound tech for years so I know about sound checking loud to have enough headroom. I also know the audience sucks up a lot of sound just being there. Here's the situation; I play for a small church, the room is 50' X 21'. We can fit about 80 people in, packed. We usually have about 40. I am the only amplified player with two guitars and congo's. I sound check loud so the guitar players can hear and we will all be playing together. We add just 30 people and I can't hear a thing! I stand right next to my GK 100W backline combo. I kept checking the settings to be sure none of the kids had adjusted it. Everything was the same as practice. I've had this happen to bass players on live gigs also, a total loss of being able to hear their rigs.

I'm told the volume in the congregation sounded well blended (from a reliable source).

Any thoughts and suggestions for the player to hear better? thanks for your help.

2. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    While the sound in the room may change a lot with the size of the audience, the sound on STAGE should change little or not at all.

Maybe everyone else is turning up after sound check? That is REAL common :meh:

3. That´s true alright. However pbd said he´s the only one with amplification. But of course the other guys could be just playing harder, which is very common also, especially with drummers.

Where do you stand in relation to the other players? Is your amp on the floor or higher? Is it tilted upwards?

4. PastorStan

PastorStan

Feb 24, 2004
    Redmond, WA