Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

sound post cracked the back

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Cristofre, Jul 8, 2004.

1. Cristofre

Cristofre

Jul 8, 2004
    Georgia, USA
    This is my first post on here, howdy!
    I have been playing electric bass for 18 years. I have always wanted a cheap upright to screw around with, I found a new cremona (I know...I can already hear the comments) a while back and it is filling that purpose. The problem is that I noticed recently that there was a crack in the back of the bass where the sound post is seated against the back. I do not remember banging the bass hard enough at any point to cause this to happen. My questions are: has anyone seen this happen before? will it get worse? I cannot really fix it with cleats as the post is pushing against it on the inside. obviously I am not going to spend any money to have this repaired by someone else but I have some limited lutherie skills I might try out on it. When I bought the thing I had to do quite a bit of work to it to make it playable , but now it is actually a pretty decent bang-around bass.

2. Welcome to talkbass.com - many fine people here, and lots of good information.

If you're going to to the repair yourself, you need to drop the post, do the repair, and then re-seat the post. It's difficult without seeing the bass, to say why it cracked - it might be a temperature/humidity thing; it might be that the post was incorrectly fitted.

Yes - it's likely to get worse with time - it will certainly not get better…

<…obviously I am not going to spend any money to have this repaired by someone else…>

Not obvious to me - unless your skills are adequate, you will take it to a luthier eventually, so why not have done with it and take it to an expert earlier rather than later? IMNSHO ;)

Good Luck -

- Wil

(Oh, by the way, what does your teacher say?)