Soundblaster card

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by seanieb, Mar 5, 2004.

1. Hey guys. I just hooked up my computer with the Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS card. Does anyone have experience recording with this soundcard? It has ASIO inputs: line in, aux in, and midi inputs. It came with Cubasis. I think it is the free version. I have been messing around with it, trying to learn what it has to offer. Anyways my question is, what is the best way to record my bass? Should I run it from the line out thru my head? And is Cubasis any good or should I find another program to record with? Thanks!
  2. Cubasis is some pretty good sound software from what I hear, but I have no hands-on experience with it. And I have no idead about the Audigy 2 ZS.

As far as recording your bass, alot of studios simply run the bass' instrument cable directly into the audio interface of the computer, or from the line out of the bass head. Not very many bother with micing the bass amp. I think this has to do alot with the lack of distortion that basses traditionally use (as opposed to guitars); distortion doesn't sound very natural coming directly from the guitar head as it does coming from the amp. Anybody else care to pitch in the reasons for typically recording directly from the bass?
  3. VS

Jun 6, 2002
    Mountain City, Tennessee
    Discounted Gear: Peavey
    I don't care for recording directly from the bass or a balanced line out personally. True that recording through a microphone into a mixer and then into the sound card may be a pain to set up(and much more expensive),but I think the amplified sound is worth the hassle. -Luke
  4. HooBass

May 27, 2003