1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Squierbird = Bad idea? Need advice from luthiers

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Lucrezian, Apr 5, 2009.

1. Lucrezian

Lucrezian

Apr 5, 2009
    Hello, i'm a novice bassist who has recently been fascinated by John Entwistle's Fenderbird bass, which I'm sure many of you have heard of. I've been thinking a lot about the fender-gibson (or in my case, squier-epiphone) hybrids, and how much each company has to contribute to make perhaps, better basses. Or at least basses none of the civilized world has yet to witness.

I've been throwing around a lot of ideas, many of which revolve around an epiphone body, most notable a Thunderbird IV and Squier necks. I love the look of Tbird bodies, but was never a fan of the headstock, which I believe aren't nearly as pretty as Squier headstocks and i enjoy the feel of a squier neck. Since the necks on an epi tbird and a squier p or j bass are all bolt on 34", it'd be easy to swap, so long as the shapes are correct, which i dont think they are but could fiddle with some power tools and reshape them.