1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Stagg Bi-pod stand

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by BDawgFish, Mar 4, 2013.

1. I've been lurking on this thread for a while but had nothing to add until now. I've had my Stagg for a year and a half and have experienced some of the same problems posted, but overall am very pleased. My background is BG so this is my first foray into the upright world. As were many I was also frustrated with the stability/stand issue and, not wanting to spend the money for a proper stand had tried something similar to the snare stand - an outdoor umbrella stand. It has the right size hole, is very sturdy, but looks funny on stage and is heavy to drag around, and the bass ‘flops’ over when I’m not holding it, due mostly to the bout thingy hanging off the side which I never really liked.

Then as I was cleaning out a closet one day recently I came upon my wife's old camera tripod and knew instantly this was what I was looking for. Since the camera mount is a metal plate with a captive screw all I had to do was figure out the screw thread size and find an insert. Turns out its 1/4-20, so off to my local hardware store I go and find a screw-in 1/4-20 insert, about ½ inch long. I then drilled a hole in the back of my bass, screwed in the insert and voila! Since the tripod is designed to handle multiple angles and heights it is versatile enough to easily handle this job. My only concern is the single point of contact – the screw – is fairly short. I don’t jump around when I play so I don’t anticipate any problems. Should the screw fail I can replace it with a standard ¼-20 screw, but that would mean having a loose piece to keep track of when I disassemble it. Of course I can always find another tripod out there somewhere.